Back to top

INCA Golds Recognise Innovation and Leadership

our award winners for 2019

The achievements of some of the UK’s best independent network organisations and individuals were acknowledged last night at our second annual INCA Golds Awards Dinner.

As the Government pledges to reach its full fibre targets ahead of 2025, the awards recognise the innovative work being done by independent network operators to build next-generation networks to meet future broadband demands.

Acknowledging the efforts of companies and individuals across the sector, eight awards were presented, with accolades going to:

  • 5GRIT for Commercial Innovation
  • Blu Wireless for Urban Impact
  • Gaist for Technical Innovation
  • Fastershire – the collaboration between Herefordshire & Gloucestershire Councils – for Best Public Sector Project
  • Stirling Council for Rural Impact
  • Stormontfield Community Association for Best Community Project 
  • Cameron Barney for Outstanding Contribution by an Organisation

“This year the competition was particularly tough, with entries highlighting some of the finest work across the independent broadband sector,” said Malcom Corbett, INCA CEO. “We are extremely proud to be able to recognise this work, which truly showcases the significance of how far the industry has come and the pivotal role independent network operators will play in building the UK’s full fibre and 5G networks – enabling communities even in the outmost rural corners of the UK to reap the social and economic benefits of ultrafast connectivity.”

Andrew Ferguson, of Thinkbroadband and Dana Tobak, of Hyperoptic, also took home Outstanding Individual Contribution Awards for their exemplary achievements as individuals in the independent broadband sector. Ferguson was acknowledged for his outstanding work in keeping the UK public updated on changes across broadband infrastructure and Tobak recognised for her efforts in spearheading the charge to ‘Gigabit Britain’.

“We would also like to acknowledge Andrew Ferguson, of Thinkbroadband and Dana Tobak, of Hyperoptic, for their tremendous contribution in advancing the sector over the past years. Both are a credit to the industry,” added Corbett.

The award winners were selected by an independent judging panel, made up of Annelise Berendt, Point Topic; James Saunby, Vice Chairman at INCA; Rob Leenderts, Director at NGIS Ltd and Chair of INCA; and Sara Waddington of SCTE.

The INCA Golds Awards are sponsored by Comtec.